BBC Music have unveiled their anticipated ‘Sound of…’ longlist for 2018, and it’s potentially one of the strongest yet.

Selected by a wealth of industry tastemakers, 2018’s Sound Of also saw former nominees included in the process for the first time ever. The likes of Stormzy, Ellie Goulding, Olly Alexander and last year’s winner, Ray BLK, all joined forces with over 170 critics, DJs and broadcasters tasked to whittle down 16 artists onto the longlist.

Of the final cut, Annie Mac said she was “super excited” to see so many “young and innovative artists” on this year’s longlist, adding “I can’t wait to be a part of their journey and see what the year ahead has in store for them all.”

The top five will be revealed in January on BBC Radio 1 and BBC News, with one artist announced each day from Monday 8 January. Clara Amfo will announce the winner on Friday 12th January.

Check the full 2018 longlist in the video below; the list follows underneath too:

BBC Music Sound of 2018 Longlist

  • Alma
  • Billie Eilish
  • Jade Bird
  • Khalid
  • Lewis Capaldi
  • Nilüfer Yanya
  • Not3s
  • Pale Waves
  • Rex Orange County
  • Sam Fender
  • Sigrid
  • Superorganism
  • Tom Walker
  • Yaeji