Over the past few days, The xx have shared teaser snippets of some new music nestled within their ‘In The Studio’ Spotify playlist, and it’s likely we’ll be hearing some full tracks toward the end of this week.

On today’s Radio 1 evening show, Annie Mac revealed that the trio will be star guests in a special Maida Vale performance on Thursday, which will feature an interview alongside a performance. Whether that includes new music remains to be seen, however Reddit user ‘Days Of Candy’ seems to have unearthed The xx’s anticipated new album prior to any kind of official announcement.

In a piece of exemplary detective work, the user wrote:

Okay, so when I Annie Mac tweeted today that The xx were going to perform live and get interviewed later this week on her show, I got pretty excited. And considering that they have dropped 3 new snippets in such a short amount of time, I knew something was up. I searched some sites and unfortunately got nothing, but then I decided to check Shazam and well, I think I have some news for you. I remember searching it before around the time they announced their South American tour, and then again when they announced their European tour (side note: I’m bummed that their show in Warsaw got sold out before I managed to grab a ticket), but nothing new came up then. And today I found 12 new titles, all tagged under an album called I See You (had to check it on my mobile to see it, here are 2 screenshots). And before you assume it’s fake, let me remind you that the titles from the new The Avalanches, Japandroids, Sampha (also signed to Young Turks), etc. records have all appeared there before. Alright, here are the titles with links:
– Brave for You
– Dangerous
– I Dare You
– Lips
– Naive
– On Hold
– Performance
– Replica
– Seasons Run
– Say Something Loving
– Test Me
– A Violent Noise
If I ruined a surprise then I’m really sorry, but again, if this was supposed to be a surprise then it shouldn’t have been sent to some databases already.

Fingers-crossed we’ll find out more this coming Thursday – The xx will take to the mics at 8pm.