Following on from their collaborative Do It Again EP with Robyn, fellow Norwegian electronic duo Royksopp have announced their brand new album, The Inevitable End, alongside a new track, Skulls.

The twelve-track collection, set to land in November, arrived with an announcement by Royksopp, with the twosome saying “We feel like this is a goodbye to the traditional album format, In our consecutive run of albums, we have been able to say what we want to say and do what we want to do with the LP. We’re not going to stop making music, but the album format as such, this is the last thing from us…”

Surprisingly, The Inevitable End will not feature last year’s impeccable Twenty Thirteen, however the record will see further collaborations with Robyn, alongside features from the likes of Jamie McDermott and Susanne Sundfør.

Back to Skulls however, the track is pretty dark, more tech-electro than we’ve probably heard from Royksopp of late, with a quivering beat that runs throughout. To us, it’s a stark departure from Do It Again, but perhaps that’s a good thing and only shows Royksopp’s multi-faceted approach.

Stream Skulls below; The Inevitable End lands on 11th November and can be preordered via the iTunes link: